• photo credit Gwinn Davis (GwinnDavisphotos.com)


Mauldin Boys Cross Country bring home the trophy at the South Carolina AAAA State Cross Country Championship! The 45 second split from first runner Ryan Smith to fifth runner Brayden Leopold sealed the deal for the team title! The boys had the lowest score of 99 points beating out Wando High School by just 5 points. Mauldin's 6th runner, Scott Sweet, came in ahead of Wando's sixth, which would have solidified the team title in the event of a tie. No question about it, Mauldin WON!!! This is the first boys state championship for Coach Howell since 1995! 

Coach Howells State Meet pictures

Gwinn Davis Welcome Home Champions photo link

Congratulations to our STATE CHAMPIONSHIP runners!! Team Results  Individual Results 

Sophomore, Ryan Smith 8th 16:12 ALL STATE

Senior Captain, Zachary Girvin 11th 16:16 ALL STATE (Awarded Shrine Bowl spot)

Senior Sawyer Willingham 15th 16:24

Sophomore Zachary Marion 32nd 16:56

Junior Brayden Leopold 33rd 16:57

Junior Scott Sweet 76th 17:33

Senior Jacob Hood 109th 18:10

Alternate Senior Eddie Laiewski 

It is a SWEET 16 win for Hall of Fame Coach Delmer Howell, who has been coaching the Mauldin Cross Country team for 30 years! This Championship title comes exactly 30 years after his first at Mauldin High!

16 State Championship teams under Hall of Fame Coach Delmer Howell

2013 AAAA Boys 
2012 AAAA Boys State Runner's Up
2007 AAAA Girls
2006 AAAA Girls "Top 50 in US"
2005 AAAA Girls
2004 AAAA Girls State Runner's Up
2000 AAAA Girls
1997 AAAA Girls 
1995 AAAA Boys
1994 AAAA Girls
1994 AAAA Boys
1993 AAAA Girls
1992 AAAA Boys
1986 Open Girls - All American
1985 AAAA Boys
1984 AAAA Boys All American
1983 AAAA Boys
1983 Open Girls