Zachary Girvin - West Point Leadership Award


Zachary Girvin was honored with the highest award given to a junior at Mauldin High -  This is the sixth consecutive year the award has been presented to a Mauldin runner (previous winners Christopher Sullivan '13,  Brittany Williams '12, Joseph Hill '11, Laura Berglind '10,  Eric Lawson '09, Alex Abercrombie '07)!

Mauldin junior Zachary Girvin is currently the #2 student in the Class of 2014. Zachary is on the Principal's Honor roll for receiving straight A's every semester! In addition he was recently awarded the Track Team Academic Award for his 5.264 GPA. He is the Captain of the Mauldin Track & Field team, Vice President Elect to MHS Beta Club, Treasurer Elect to MHS NHS, on the Fellowship of Christian Athletes leadership council, a member of Youth Leadership Greenville, and a delegate to the Palmetto Boy's State. Zachary has also been selected to the USC Upstate/BMW Academic Outreach Camp. He was awarded the Martin Luther King, Jr. Youth 2012 Certificate of Achievement for Academics. 

Zachary also also received the 110% award for Cross Country. He is a member of the 2013 MHS XC State Runner Up team that ran the fastest times at State in over a decade! He can run a 5k in 16:35 and a 3200 meter on the track in 10:00 flat!

West Point Leadership Award - The award is given each year to one high school junior based on their academic, athletic, community service, good citizenship and leadership abilities.  The winner is invited to attend the West Point Strong Leader Academy in the summer at the McGrady National Guard Training Center in Columbia, SC. 

More on the history of the Award at Mauldin High

Zachary's name will be displayed on a plaque in the school hall along with the previous West Point Leadership Award winners.

2000 - Ryan Kennedy

2001 - William Benjamin Havird '02, USC '06; Indiana '07

2002 - William J. Warden '03, Clemson University '07

2003 - Andrew Gilchrist '04, Naval Academy '08, Naval Postgraduate School

2004 - Courtney M. Robinson

2005 - Quentin Tyris James '06,Furman University (Hollingsworth Scholar) '10, Howard University

2006- Alexander Abercrombie SCGS '07, Berklee '12 (Track)

2007- Thomas Butler Herlong '08, Clemson University '12

2008 - Eric Christopher Lawson '09, Emory University '13 (Emory Scholar), USC SOM-Gvl (XC/Track)

2009 - Samuel Joseph Hill '10, University of South Carolina '14 (Track)

2010 - Laura Berglind '11, Clemson University '15 (XC)

2011 - Brittany Williams '12, Appalachian State University '16 (XC/Track)

2012 - Christopher Sullivan '13, Charleston Southern University '17 (Track)

2013 - Zachary Girvin '14 (XC/Track)