Brittany Williams named Spirit of the Mav

A description of the award from the 2008 Mauldin Yearbook

The highly esteemed title "Spirit of the Maverick" is awarded to students who exemplify characteristics that one associates with a true leader.  This group of seniors chosen by Mauldin faculty members, proved to be, not only excellent students, but leaders in the community as well.  These students display what it means to be a Maverick in and out of the classroom.  Regarded as the epitome of an exceptional student, they display integrity, honesty, respect, academic excellence, leadership, service, and true Maverick pride. These are students that give back in the classroom and in the community.  Giving of themselves to help others, these students were more than willing to go the distance to make a difference in the Mauldin community.  As great American football coach, Vincent Lombardi once said, "Leadership is based on a spiritual quality; the power to inspire, the power to inspire others to follow." These students have exemplified this quality by encouraging others to lead as well.  In their four years at Mauldin, these students have made an impression on their teachers and fellow classmates.  This award recognizes them for their various accomplishments through their high school careers.  

Congratulations to the Class of 2012 Spirit of the Mav award winners - Kalyn Anders, Haley Elliott, Courtney Hopkins, Ellie Hopkins, Jordyn Lyles, Kate Macsay, Erin McDaris, Madison Scott, Sandra Siatkowski, Sarah Tuggle, Brittany Williams, Zac Cockman, Mitchel Colebank, Elijah Sullivan, Jordan Hallums, TJ Krummins, Quintin Miller, Shamon Oglesby, Ben Riddle!  


Spirit of the Mav History