Christopher Sullivan-West Point Leadership Award

In continuing with a long standing tradition on this team, yet another Mauldin track member has been honored with the highest award given to a junior at Mauldin High - (previous winners Brittany Williams '12, Joseph Hill '11, Eric Lawson '09, Alex Abercrombie '07)

Congratulations to Mauldin junior Christopher Sullivan on receiving the West Point Leadership Award.  Christopher is on the Track Team and Team Captain of the throwers. He is also on the Football Team and Team Captain of Offensive Lineman. Christopher received the 2011 Varsity Most Improved Award. He received letters to play football in college. Christopher is also a Boy Scout with Troop 715 and was the Senior Patrol Leader for a year. He is the Assistant Course Leader of Youth Operations at National Youth Leadership Training for the Boy Scouts. 

West Point Leadership Award - The award is given each year to one high school junior based on their academic, athletic, community service, good citizenship and leadership abilities.  The winner is invited to attend the West Point Strong Leader Academy in the summer at the McGrady National Guard Training Center in Columbia, SC. 

More on the history of the Award at Mauldin High

Christopher's name will be displayed on a plaque in the school hall along with the previous West Point Leadership Award winners.

2000 - Ryan Kennedy ‘01

2001 - William Benjamin Havird '02; USC '06; Indiana '07

2002 - William J. Warden '03, Clemson University '07

2003 - Andrew Gilchrist '04, Naval Academy '08

2004 - Courtney M. Robinson ‘05

2005 - Quentin Tyris James '06, Furman University (Hollingsworth Scholar) '10

2006- Alexander Abercrombie SCGS '07, Berklee '11 ( XC/TRACK)

2007- Thomas Butler Herlong '08, Clemson University '12;

2008 - Eric Christopher Lawson '09, Emory University '13 (XC/TRACK)

2009 - Samuel Joseph Hill '10, University of South Carolina '14 (TRACK)

2010 - Laura Berglind '11, Clemson University '15 (XC)

2011 –Brittany Williams ’12 Appalachian State '16 (XC/TRACK)

2012 - Christopher Sullivan '13 (TRACK)